Spaldwick Seat Falls to UKIP

In the Cambridgeshire County Council election, Simon Bywater of UKIP has secured the seat for the Sawtry and Ellington ward (which includes Spaldwick). The full results were:

Simon Bywater – UKIP (1,228)
Viv McGuire – Conservative (894)
Mary Theresa Howell – Labour (230)
Rupert William George Moss-Eccardt – Liberal Democrat (149)

In the last election – in 2009 – Viv McGuire secured 1735 votes making it a very safe Conservative seat.

In another interesting development, the Conservative leader, Nick Clarke, lost his Fulbourn seat to Liberal Democrat John Williams. Nick Clarke received 848 votes against John Williams’ total of 1,180.